Skip to main content
Regulatory Explainers

Alberta’s Self-Exclusion System for Online Casinos: How AGLC’s Program Works in Practice

Alberta's self-exclusion covers every AGLC casino and land-based venue at once. See how it works in practice and how it stacks up against Ontario's BetGuard.

Alberta’s regulated online casino market opened on July 13, 2026, with more than 43 private operators registered through the Alberta Gaming, Liquor and Cannabis (AGLC). Every one of them was required to integrate with the province’s centralized Self-Exclusion Program before they could legally accept a single deposit. That is not a policy goal or a best practice. It is a condition of registration, and operators who haven’t completed it don’t go live.

For Alberta players who want a real exit option rather than a soft toggle buried in account settings, that architecture matters. This article breaks down how the program works, what it covers that Ontario’s equivalent doesn’t, and what the enforcement picture looks like if operators fail to follow through.

What Is AGLC’s Self-Exclusion Program?

Despite sometimes being referred to colloquially as “SPIN” in third-party discussions, AGLC’s official documentation describes the system simply as the centralized Self-Exclusion Program. According to AGLC’s iGaming portal, the program gives players three choices when they decide to step back from gambling. You can exclude from all registered iGaming platforms, from all land-based casinos and racing entertainment centres, or from both simultaneously. One registration. One decision. The exclusion runs across every legal gambling venue in the province at once.

That cross-venue scope is the structural headline. A player who opts for the online-plus-land-based path cannot walk into a casino in Calgary on Friday night after self-excluding from their phone on Wednesday. The iGaming Alberta Act and AGLC’s Standards and Requirements for Internet Gaming make the exclusion legally binding on operators, not just administratively expected.

Beyond self-exclusion, AGLC’s Standards for Internet Gaming require every registered operator to offer deposit limits, session time limits, and loss limits as standard account features. Players access these tools directly through their account settings, without contacting customer support. They are compliance requirements, not optional add-ons operators can choose to bury.

Does the Exclusion Actually Enforce Across All 43+ Operators?

This is the question that matters most. A self-exclusion system is only as useful as its reach, and Alberta’s design closes the loophole that plagued Ontario’s early market.

Before Ontario launched BetGuard in May 2026, a player who self-excluded from one AGCO-licensed site could sign up for a new one the same afternoon. With 76 regulated sites running across 44 operators, that gap was real and documented. As reported by Gaming News Canada, a CBC investigation profiled an Ontario man who lost $14,000 in a single night partly because he circumvented self-imposed limits by opening accounts on different apps. Per-operator exclusion, across a market that size, was effectively no exclusion at all.

Alberta didn’t repeat that design error. Because AGLC made centralized program integration a mandatory go-live requirement, the cross-operator coverage was in place from the market’s opening day. A player who registers for self-exclusion is removed from every AGLC-registered online platform simultaneously. The practical enforcement mechanism runs through AGLC’s registration framework itself. According to AGLC’s iGaming portal, operators must complete compliance requirements covering RNG certification, player fund segregation, and Self-Exclusion Program integration before they are permitted to open to players. Clearing registration with AGLC is the first gate. Signing a commercial agreement with the Alberta iGaming Corporation (AiGC) is the second. Neither gate opens without the self-exclusion integration complete.

How Does This Compare to Ontario’s BetGuard?

Ontario’s BetGuard portal, launched May 14, 2026 by iGaming Ontario, gave Ontario players the same one-registration, full-market coverage that Alberta built in from day one. One registration at BetGuard.ca blocks access across all 75-plus Ontario regulated sites, stops direct marketing from all operators, and covers OLG’s own platform alongside private operators for the first time. Within two weeks of launch, BetGuard had logged more than 500 registrations, according to Canadian Gaming Business.

BetGuard is a genuine improvement for Ontario players. Two structural gaps remain, though, when compared to Alberta’s program. BetGuard covers Ontario’s online regulated market only. It does not extend to land-based casinos. Excluding from both online and physical venues in Ontario requires separate processes through BetGuard and OLG’s PlaySmart program. In Alberta, one registration handles both at once. The other gap is timing: Ontario needed four years of market operation before a centralized portal existed. Alberta launched with it already in place.

Ontario’s BetGuard exclusion periods run from six months up to five years, or a custom term. Alberta’s program duration details are not publicly disclosed at the same level of specificity on AGLC’s portal, so a direct period-by-period comparison isn’t possible based on current public information.

What Happens When You Register?

The registration process for Alberta’s Self-Exclusion Program takes place outside any individual casino platform. Players contact AGLC directly rather than logging in to a specific operator to initiate it. Once registered, operators are legally prohibited from allowing that player to access their accounts or create new ones. AGLC’s rules also restrict operators from sending direct marketing to self-excluded players, closing the familiar pattern where someone closes a casino account and then receives an email nudging them back three days later.

The iGaming Alberta Act, passed by the provincial legislature in May 2025, gives those obligations legal weight. Self-exclusion is enforceable under provincial law, not just a platform policy an operator can interpret loosely. If you need support or want to begin the registration process, the Alberta problem gambling helpline is available at 1-866-332-2322. Our guide to responsible gambling tools across Canada covers the full scope of what regulated markets offer.

What Ontario’s Enforcement Record Tells Alberta Players

Alberta’s market is new. As of publication, AGLC has not publicly disclosed enforcement actions against iGaming operators for self-exclusion breaches in the first weeks of operation. That is expected, the market only opened in July 2026. Ontario’s four-year record, though, gives Alberta players a realistic sense of what provincial enforcement looks like when it actually functions.

Since Ontario’s market opened in April 2022, according to Gaming News Canada reporting from September 2026, the AGCO has issued monetary penalties to 17 different operators, with total fines exceeding $1.5 million. That figure includes a $100,000 penalty to NorthStar Gaming in August 2026 for anti-money laundering control failures. The AGCO also issued a proposed five-day suspension to PointsBet Canada in March 2026 for compliance failures that included responsible gambling protocol breaches, a direct example of enforcement reaching into the player protection space.

“In the last 52 months, the AGCO has issued monetary penalties to 17 different operators”, Gaming News Canada, September 2026

That track record matters because AGLC explicitly modelled Alberta’s framework on Ontario’s. Minister Dale Nally said publicly at SBC Summit Canada in May 2026 that Alberta “watched what they did in Ontario” and didn’t want to recreate the wheel. The compliance culture Ontario built through actual enforcement is the template Alberta inherited. Whether AGLC will demonstrate the same enforcement appetite over time is a fair question. Only time will answer it.

The Gap Regulated Systems Cannot Close

Alberta’s Self-Exclusion Program covers every legal online casino in the province and every land-based casino and racing entertainment centre. What it cannot cover are unregulated offshore platforms that, according to industry estimates cited in coverage of the iGaming Alberta Act, an estimated 70% of Alberta players were using before the regulated market opened.

Playing on a platform without AGLC registration means your self-exclusion registration carries no legal force there. No mechanism exists to compel an offshore operator to honour an AGLC exclusion. That is the single strongest practical argument for consolidating your gambling activity on AGLC-registered platforms. It is also worth knowing that the AGLC program has no cross-provincial reach. An Alberta exclusion does not block access to Ontario-registered casinos, and vice versa. Players who travel between provinces and play in both markets need to register separately in each, a gap in Canadian regulatory design that remains unresolved at the federal level.

For a broader look at how Canada’s regulated casino markets compare on player protections, our overview of licensed online casinos across Canada covers what players can access province by province.

Bottom Line

Alberta’s centralized Self-Exclusion Program is structurally sound, mandatory for every AGLC-registered operator, active from the market’s opening day, and covering both online and land-based play through a single registration. That cross-venue scope puts it ahead of Ontario’s BetGuard, which launched four years into the market and still covers online play only. The real test is enforcement, and Alberta has Ontario’s four-year track record as a credible model to follow.

Sources

  • AGLC iGaming Portal, centralized Self-Exclusion Program and Go-Live Compliance requirements, aglc.ca/igaming (accessed September 2026)
  • Gaming News Canada, “Fanatics makes a soft landing in Ontario with launch of online casino product,” September 2, 2026 (AGCO penalty total and operator count cited)
  • iGaming Ontario, BetGuard official launch announcement, May 14, 2026, igamingontario.ca
  • AGCO, Notice of Proposed Order, PointsBet Canada, March 15, 2026, agco.ca
  • Canadian Gaming Business, BetGuard registration figures, May 2026
  • iGaming Alberta Act, provincial legislation, passed May 2025, Alberta Legislature