Skip to main content
Casino Comparisons

PointsBet vs BetRivers Casino Ontario 2026: Which Sportsbook-Born Casino Delivers for Table Players?

PointsBet or BetRivers for blackjack and roulette in Ontario? We compare live dealer depth, payout speed and AGCO records so you can pick before you deposit.

As of October 2026, BetRivers is the better pick for Ontario table players. Its lobby is built around casino play, it has no AGCO enforcement action on record, and its live dealer section gets consistent praise in our earlier comparisons. PointsBet has a faster stated withdrawal window of 24 to 48 hours against BetRivers’ 1 to 3 days, but it publishes no live table count and has just settled a regulatory case with the AGCO. Neither operator matches bet365’s published 215 live tables.

The premise that both casinos grew out of sportsbooks only half holds. PointsBet arrived in Ontario as a sports betting brand when the market opened in April 2022, and the casino sits beside that. BetRivers is run by Rush Street Interactive, whose CEO Richard Schwartz described the brand at its Alberta launch as bringing an “established casino-first approach” west. We built this comparison from our published review data, the AGCO’s own settlement notice and trade coverage. We did not time a withdrawal ourselves, so payout figures are stated or player-reported windows.

Which Has the Better Live Dealer Lobby for Table Players?

Evolution Gaming supplies live dealer infrastructure for the overwhelming majority of iGaming Ontario operators, according to our live dealer guide. That means Lightning Roulette, Infinite Blackjack, Speed Baccarat and the game show catalogue are the baseline everywhere. Stream quality and dealer training are effectively the same at both casinos, so the real differences are how many tables run, how many bet-limit tiers are open, and whether the operator will tell you.

On that last point, neither operator performs well. PointsBet offers Evolution blackjack, roulette, baccarat and game shows, but it does not disclose how many live tables it runs in Ontario. BetRivers does not state a live table count either. Our comparison with DraftKings described its live section as a genuine strength with no obvious category gaps. Without a number, you cannot judge whether a seat will be free at 9 pm on a Saturday. Our table game ranking explains why operators that refuse to publish counts sit below those that do.

Game depth beyond the live floor is also thin on verified data. Our May 2026 library audit found that neither BetRivers nor DraftKings publishes an Ontario-specific game count. PointsBet’s exact slot total is likewise not publicly disclosed, though its roster includes Pragmatic Play, Play’n GO, NetEnt and Evolution. Neither publishes per-game RTP across the whole lobby. The AGCO requires RTP in each game’s help screen, so open that menu and check the rule set and deck count before you sit at a blackjack table.

BetRivers wins this section on editorial grounds. Rush Street built its US business on a tighter, curated selection, and in our BetRivers vs Caesars comparison that meant a higher quality-to-noise ratio but less sheer variety. If you want the broadest variant menu, BetRivers is not the answer. If you want a lobby where the table games are the point rather than an add-on to a betting app, it is the stronger of these two.

Which Pays Out Faster?

PointsBet processes INTERAC e-Transfer withdrawals in roughly 24 to 48 hours on verified accounts, based on player-reported timelines and our April 2026 withdrawal research. It does not publish that window on its payments page, so you cannot hold it to a number. BetRivers states 1 to 3 days on our review page, with a $10 minimum deposit. PointsBet’s minimum deposit is not confirmed in our research.

On paper PointsBet is a day quicker at the upper end. In practice, the gap shrinks if your ID is not already on file. Both casinos require KYC before a first withdrawal, and an unverified account can add days at any Ontario operator. For context, bet365 lists 1 to 4 hours and FanDuel 24 to 48 hours, while our fastest-paying ranking shows BetRivers sitting in a group that stretches from 24 hours to 7 days. Upload your government ID and proof of address before you play. Our payment methods guide covers INTERAC steps, including accepting the transfer in your bank app before it expires.

If a withdrawal runs late at either site, escalate to the operator first and then to iGaming Ontario’s complaint process. Our guide to a late INTERAC withdrawal walks through that sequence.

What PointsBet’s AGCO Settlement Means for You

In February 2026 the AGCO issued a Notice of Proposed Order to suspend PointsBet for five days, alleging it failed to properly monitor, detect, document and report suspicious betting patterns tied to the 2024 Jontay Porter NBA scandal. PointsBet appealed. Canadian Gaming Business reported on October 20, 2026 that the operator settled instead. The AGCO’s notice says PointsBet agreed to a two-day suspension of its Ontario gaming site and an independent audit, using an auditor and methodology the AGCO approves, with remediation independently validated. The AGCO says the settlement concludes the proceeding.

The case concerned sports betting integrity, not rigged casino games, and the licence remains in place. It still tells you something about internal controls at the operator holding your balance. Player funds in Ontario are segregated under AGCO standards at every licensed site, so the practical risk is a short outage rather than lost money. BetRivers has no enforcement action on record, which is a real edge for anyone choosing between the two.

Responsible Gambling Tools at Both Casinos

Both operators must offer deposit limits, loss limits, session time limits and self-exclusion under AGCO standards, and you can set them from account settings without contacting support. The bigger tool sits above both. iGaming Ontario launched BetGuard in May 2026, and one registration at betguard.ca with valid ID blocks you from every regulated Ontario site for six months, one year, five years or a custom term. It closes existing accounts, prevents new ones and stops marketing from licensed operators. Registration is open to Ontario residents aged 19 and older. Our responsible gambling tools guide and the BetGuard walkthrough cover the steps. ConnexOntario is available at 1-866-531-2600.

Frequently asked questions

Is PointsBet or BetRivers better for live blackjack in Ontario?

BetRivers is the better fit for most table players because of its casino-first lobby and clean AGCO record. Neither publishes a live table count, so seat availability at peak hours cannot be verified for either.

Which pays out faster, PointsBet or BetRivers?

PointsBet’s player-reported INTERAC window is 24 to 48 hours, against BetRivers’ stated 1 to 3 days. PointsBet does not publish its figure, and both require completed identity verification first.

Are PointsBet and BetRivers licensed in Ontario?

Yes. Both hold active iGaming Ontario operator agreements and are regulated by the AGCO. PointsBet agreed to a two-day suspension and an independent audit in October 2026 after an AGCO proceeding.

Can I self-exclude from both casinos at once?

Yes. Registering with BetGuard at betguard.ca blocks you from every regulated Ontario gaming site, including both operators, in a single request.

Sources

  • AGCO, “AGCO and PointsBet Canada reach settlement,” agco.ca, October 2026, https://www.agco.ca/en/news/agco-and-pointsbet-canada-reach-settlement
  • Canadian Gaming Business, “PointsBet settles with Ontario regulator, will be suspended 2 days over Jontay Porter bets,” October 20, 2026
  • iGaming Ontario, BetGuard centralized self-exclusion tool announcement, May 2026, betguard.ca
  • CanadaCasinos.io, BetRivers Casino Ontario review and PointsBet Casino Review Ontario 2026, accessed October 2026
  • Rush Street Interactive Alberta launch statement, as reported July 2026

Bottom Line

Pick BetRivers if you play live blackjack or roulette and want a clean AGCO record and a casino-focused lobby, and accept a 1 to 3 day payout. Pick PointsBet only if the slightly faster stated window matters more to you than transparency. If table depth and speed both rank high for you, bet365’s published 215 live tables and 1 to 4 hour INTERAC window beat either of these two.